The List of Severe Conditions

The Social Security Administration (SSA) employs a five step process to determine if a person is or isn’t disabled. At any point, a person can be denied disability because of a failure to meet the requirements. Step three employs a list of conditions that are automatically considered disabled if a person has these. This is the one step where a person isn’t automatically disqualified. The list is broken down by body system.

The list is divided into fourteen different areas of the body. Parts of the list are included below.

  • 1. Musculoskeletal System
    • Spinal arachnoiditis
    • Major dysfunction of joints
  • 2. Special Senses and Speech
    • Visual disorders
    • Hearing Impairments
    • Loss of speech
  • 3. Respiratory System
    • Cystic Fibrosis
    • Chronic impairment of gas exchange
  • 4. Cardiovascular System
    • Chronic heart failure
    • Ventricular dysfunction
    • Central cyanosis
    • Disorders of the veins or arteries
    • Congenital heart defects
  • 5. Digestive System
    • Gastrointestinal hemorrhage
    • Hepatic (liver) dysfunction
  • 6. Genitourinary System
    • Chronic renal disease
  • 7. Hematological Disorders
    • Anemia
    • Sickle Cell Anemia
  • 8. Skin Disorders
    • Ichthyosis
    • Bullous diseases
    • Chronic infections of the skin or mucous membranes
    • DermatitisGenetic photosensitivity disorders
    • Burns
  • 9. Endocrine System
    • Over or under production of hormones
  • 10. Impairments that Affect Multiple Body Systems
    • Down’s Syndrome
    • Non mosaic Down’s Syndrome
  • 11. Neurological
    • Epilepsy
    • Brain Tumors
  • 12. Mental Disorders
    • Schizophrenia
  • 13. Malignant Neoplastic Diseases
    • Lymphoma
    • Leukemia
  • 14. Immune System Disorders
    • Not HIV

All of these ailments, and many more, have been deemed by the Social Security Administration to be serious or severe enough to warrant automatic eligibility for disability payments. While it is one thing to say that a diagnosis exists, it is quite another thing to prove it.

The SSA requires a large amount of data on each of the above diseases, and many more, that can make it very difficult to prove on the first try that a disability exists. Because of the amount of proof required for some diseases, becoming eligible on the first attempt at qualifying is generally rather difficult.

If a disease or condition is not on the list of accepted SSA diseases, all hope is not lost. There are many other diseases that, if judged to be on the same severity level as the listed ones, will still qualify an individual for disability payments. These diseases are evaluated in parts four and five of the five-part test.

Contact an Indianapolis Social Security Lawyer

If you have been diagnosed with a condition and would like to learn more about how to prove the condition exists and is a cause of disability, contact the Indianapolis social security lawyers of the Hankey Law Office at 317-634-8565.