The Appeals Process: Step 2 & 3

It may feel unfair, cheated, and just plain wrong. You have spent your adult life doing hard, honest work and now when you need the help, your claim is denied. Fortunately, the Social Security Administration has an appeals process that allows disability claimants three levels of appeals:

  • Hearing by and administrative law judge
  • Review by the Appeals Council
  • Federal court review

If you find that the decision made during the hearing is not agreeable, then you can ask to have you case heard by the Social Security Appeals Council.

Appeals Council

Asking for a review by Social Security’s Appeals Council is the next step of action to take if you do not agree with the hearing decision of the judge. The Appeals Council looks at all request for review, however it may deny a request if it believes the hearing decision was correct. Upon deciding to review your case the Appeals Council can either decide your case itself or return it to an administrative law judge for further review.

The Final Straw

At this point, if the decision made by the Appeals Council or subsequent judge is no sufficient, all is not lost. It is your right to file a lawsuit in a federal district court in order to get the assistance your disability requires and deserves.

If you had an unsatisfactory Social Security appeal, you should have the support and advice of an outstanding law firm by your side. Contact the Indianapolis Social Security Disability lawyers of the Hankey Law Office at 800.520.3633.