The Appeals Process: Step 1

After suffering from injury, disease, or other disability that prohibits you from the earnings you would be making otherwise, the support that the government gives you is Social Security Disability. Unfortunately, the judge or organization that decides whether or not to award you any relief and in what amount may not always rule in a way that you find favorable. The Social Security Administration does offer three levels of appeal:

  • Hearing by and administrative law judge
  • Review by the Appeals Council
  • Federal court review

A Hearing

The first step to appeal the initial decision on your disability claim is a hearing. The hearing will regard the disability issues of your claim, such as whether or not you are disabled, when your disability began, or whether it has ended. The proceedings will be conducted by an administrative law judge who had no part in the first decision regarding your case. At the hearing, you or your representative is allowed to present new information in your file. You, along with any witnesses present at the hearing will be questioned by the judge. The judge will make his or her decision based on the information presented.

Having a Representative

It is not required that you have a representative, like an attorney, with you at a Social Security appeals hearing. However, this is highly recommended as an attorney who is knowledgeable and experienced with this area of the law can make somewhat of a difference in your case.

Contact a Social Security Disability Lawyer Today

If you or a loved one has been denied a Social Security Disability claim, you have the right to an appeals process. Contact the Indianapolis Social Security Disability lawyers of the Hankey Law Office at 800.520.3633 today.