Disabilities from Muscular Dystrophy

Muscular dystrophy is the name given to a large group of genetic, hereditary muscle diseases that weaken the muscles that are responsible for providing movement to the human skeleton. The various diseases in the category are characterized by muscle weakness that gets progressively worse, various defects in the proteins of the muscles, and the death of muscle cells and tissue.

There are nine diseases are always classified as muscular dystrophy when they occur. These nine diseases include:

  • Duchenne
  • Becker
  • Limb girdle
  • Congenital
  • Facioscapulohumeral
  • Myotonic
  • Oculopharyngeal
  • Distal
  • Emery-Dreyfus

While these nine are always classified as muscular dystrophy, there are more than 100 diseases that have various numbers of similarities with muscular dystrophy. The majority of muscular dystrophy cases are multi-system disorders. These disorders affect, in addition to the skeletal muscles, the heart, the gastrointestinal and nervous systems, endocrine glands, skin, eyes, and a variety of other organs.

Because of the nature of the disease in its progressive state and the fact that it affects so many systems of the body, muscular dystrophy can have a profound affect on a person’s life. It can change the way one is able to function on one’s own to the degree that round the clock care is necessary.

As the disease progresses, a person may find him or herself unable to work or even care for oneself on one’s one. The skeletal muscles are important for ensuring that a person can move and function. When their abilities are compromised by muscular dystrophy, everything else is difficult.

Contact an Indianapolis Social Security Lawyer

If you have muscular dystrophy and have been denied coverage for social security disability, contact the Indianapolis social security lawyers of the Hankey Law Office at (800) 520-3633 to discuss your situation and to learn about the appeals process.